My Archive

A complete list of my writings published on Medium

Zul Bal
2 min readOct 22, 2020

One of the few things I know about writing is this: spend it all, shoot it, play it, lose it, all, right away, every time…give it, give it all, give it now.
Annie Dillard

Meditation and Mindfulness

The Most Helpful Yet Overlooked Thing About Meditation
Becoming Better At Being Happy
What is Wrong With an Ordinary Life?
I Will Never Regret Spending So Much of My Life Meditating
Is There Really a Mindfulness Conspiracy?
Why I Watch For Signs From Life
A Deceptively Simple Way to Break a Habit

Writing and Creativity

Does Writing Ever Become Easier?
When the Words Don’t Come Easily
Writing in a Time of Pandemic (a tribute to George Orwell)
Will You Write When You Feel Blue? (on being authentic)
The Magic of Embracing Stupid (on dealing with inner critic)
Why I Write To My Son?
My Escape From the Most Useless Place, the Waiting Place
Totally Random Thoughts
Helen Cassidy Page’s Advice to Succeed as a Writer

Self and Life

We All Have Enough Time
Learning to Lower My Mountain of Expectations
What Do You (Not) Have Time For?
Exercise Happier, Not Harder
Success is What You Mean It To Be
Does Science Need To Tell Us Why Affection Matters?
The Forest Spirit (a tribute to my friend and zero waste living)
When A Cow Walks Into a Bar (on hope and happiness)
How Quitting My Job Twice Saved Me From Settling for Less
If You Can Afford to Travel, Can You Afford Not to Travel?
So What If My Life is a Mess? (on using reverse psychology)
A Year if Letting Go and Letting Be (on setting an intention)
The Key to Healing is Within You (lessons from a Holocaust survivor)
When House Hunting Turned into a Ghost Sighting
Why Do a Dry January?(reflections on my month-long break from alcohol)
Isolation Isn’t Good For Us
Collect Memories, Not Things

Society and Culture

The Secret Billionaire Who Wanted to Die Broke
Nothing Belongs to Us, Except Time
What the Pandemic Has Shown Us About Life
What’s Up, Police? (On BLM)
To Wear Or Not to Wear? That is Not the Question (on mask war)
How Seven Words Got a Man Evicted From His Home
Japanese Mother Hires a Father for Her Daughter


Writing on Medium

Three Things About Medium I Can Live Without
No, I Won’t Follow You Back If You Scam Me
There is Nothing I Hate About Medium
What If I Don’t Have Advice For You?
It is Okay If You Don’t Follow Me
Why Medium’s New Symbol Rubs Us Wrong Way
Three Ideas For Writing Memorable Listicles

Poetry

Can You Tell Me Your Reason Why?
If Only I Had a Magic Finger
Once Upon a Time, I Chose to Fight
America, Why I Feel Sorry for You, I Don’t Know
The American Dream, WTF?
Panic in New York
Hello Coronavirus, Why Are You Here?
I Love You, Life

--

--

Zul Bal

I write to collect, capture, and curate ordinary beautiful ideas.